1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content

Latino Daily News

Thursday February 3, 2011

Fundación Escuela Nueva Wins Henry R. Kravis Leadership Award for $250,000

Claremont McKenna College (CMC) announced today that Vicky Colbert was awarded the sixth annual Henry R. Kravis Prize in Leadership. The Kravis Prize, which carries a $250,000 award designated to the recipient organization, recognizes extraordinary leadership in the nonprofit sector. Ms. Colbert will be presented with The Kravis Prize at a ceremony on March 22 in New York city.

Ms. Colbert founded the nonprofit organization Fundación Escuela Nueva, which aims to improve the quality of education in low-income schools across the globe. Since its inception, the organization’s innovative educational model has reached more than five million children in Latin America and has influenced education models in Africa and Asia.

“Vicky Colbert is a true pioneer in education, and her commitment in Latin America is inspiring,” said Henry Kravis. “She has taken her experiences as UNICEF’s regional adviser for education in the Americas and Colombia’s vice minister of education and created an organization that affects change not only in her home country, but globally.”

Founded in 1987, the internationally recognized Escuela Nueva Foundation works to alleviate inequality and poverty through a collaborative learning educational program in Ms. Colbert’s native Colombia. The program provides effective teacher training, improves curriculum and fosters classroom environments that are engaging and compelling to students. The Escuela Nueva model moves away from traditional “teacher-centered” environments, which often emphasize rote memorization directed by the teacher, and instead encourages “child-centered” environments that fully engage students and allow them to learn at their own pace.

Established in 2006, The Henry R. Kravis Prize in Leadership recognizes and celebrates extraordinary accomplishment and bold leadership in the nonprofit sector. The Kravis Prize is presented and administered by Claremont McKenna College and Marie-Josee Kravisand Henry Kravis.


There are no tags for this entry.