1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content

Latino Daily News

Sunday November 7, 2010

What is the G20 and Latin America’s Role?

The Group of Twenty (G-20) Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors was established in 1999 to bring together systemically important industrialized and developing economies to discuss key issues in the global economy.

There are only three Latin American country members: Argentina, Brazil, and Mexico.  Mexico chaired the G20 in 2003 and most recently Brazil in 2008.

The Republic of Korea is hosting this year’ G20 on November 11-12; President Obama is already enroute.  In principle, priority is given to heads of state, such as king of Saudi Arabia, presidents of the U.S., South Korea and Brazil among others. Next in line are the heads of governments such as the prime ministers of the United Kingdom and Japan.

Seating is extremely important. Some countries are vying to sit next to the host country or influential world leaders to share important messages at the multilateral talks.