1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content



Latino Daily News

Monday December 6, 2010

Tuesday December 7th DREAM Act- Day of Action, Help Spur Congress to Vote Yes

Tuesday December 7th DREAM Act- Day of Action, Help Spur Congress to Vote Yes

Photo: DREAM Act Now

Click Here to Enlarge Photo

Immigrant Youth and Faith Communities Mobilize for DREAM Act across the Country for a Day of Action

Events in 26 States Highlight Moral and Economic Imperative for Congress to Pass the DREAM Act

On Tuesday, December 7th, immigrant youth and communities of faith around the country are hosting a variety of events to urge Congress to pass the DREAM Act. In some states, leaders will hold vigils to highlight the moral urgency behind the issue. In Washington D.C., and in district offices in various states, events will feature DREAM Act students delivering over-sized 6ft checks for $2.3 billion to their members of Congress, highlighting the economic benefit of the DREAM Act to America. The Congressional Budget Office estimated that the DREAM Act would generate $2.3 billion of new revenues for the nation’s coffers, including $1.4 billion to reduce the deficit. Below is a compilation of the enormous number of events happening all over the country to spur Congress to a yes vote on DREAM.

In Washington, D.C.:
WHAT:        Check Delivery to Members of Congress
WHEN:        10:30 A.M. Tuesday, December 7th, 2010
WHO:          Undocumented immigrant youth from across the country
VISUALS:      DREAM Act students will deliver giant 6ft checks to Members of Congress

Around the country:
AZ:    Phoenix, vigil at State Capitol: Raquel Teran, raquel@promiseaz.org (602) 326-5854
AZ:    Glendale, Fast and press event with Dolores Huerta at Sen McCain’s office, Daniel Rodriguez, xdanielrodriguezx@gmail.com, (623) 206-4243
CA:    Los Angeles, candle-light procession & vigil: Jorge-Mario Cabrera, jmcabrera@chirla.org, (213) 255-5043, Olivia Park (213) 605-1255
CA:    Bay Area, Candle light vigil, Food drive: Eric Quezada, equezada@dscs.org
CA:    San Diego, Vigil at Mesa College, Norma Chavez-Peterson, norma@justicesandiego.org, (619) 696-9474
CA:    Los Angeles, Check Delivery to Congressional Offices, Cyndi Bendezu (323) 385-7460, Sofia Campos (323) 854-9265
CO:    Denver, Longmont, Alan Kaplan, alan@coloradoimmigrant.org, (917) 776-2388
DE:    Check Delivery to Rep. Castle, Alicia Dominguez (302) 983-9302
FL:      Check Delivery to Congressional offices in Miami and Orlando, Jose Luis Marantes, joseluis@unitedwedream.org, (407) 520-8714
IA:      Marshalltown, vigil, Ruth Schutlz, ruth@iowacci.org
IL:      Chicago, Check Delivery to Congressional offices, Ireri Unzueta (773) 653-3665
IL:      Chicago, Federal Plaza vigil, Stephen Noble Smith, stephennoblesmith@gmail.com, (773) 444-9557
MA:    Boston, Check delivery to Sen. Brown, Renata Teodoro (774) 240-5647
ME:    Portland, Check delivery to Congressional office, Martin Lopez
MI:    Detroit, Vigil, Ryan Bates, ryan@michiganimmigrationreform.org, (248) 787-6767
MO:    Kasnsas City, Check delivery to Sen. McCaskill, Jackie Saavedra (913) 850-1019
NC:    Charlotte, Greensboro, vigils at Congressional offices, Ruben Campillo, ruben.campillo@gmail.com, (704) 309-9388
NC:    Chapel Hill, Funeral for Broken DREAMs, Irene Godinez, igodinez@latinamericancoalition.org, (919) 491-5627
NY:    New York City, Check Delivery, Vigil – Thanu Yakupitiyage, tyak@thenyic.org, (212) 627-2227 x235, Christina Baal, cabal@thenyic.org, Kevin Kang (718) 791-1447
NY:    Corona, Prayer vigil, Jaime Weisberg, 718-637-3054, jweisberg@gmail.com
OK:    Check delivery to Congressional office, Kasey Hughart, (918) 403-9532
OR:    Portland, vigil
TN:    Nashville, Check Delivery to Rep. Cooper, David Morales, david@tnimmigrant.org, (615) 775-1069
TX:    Houston, Check delivery to Sen. Hutchison, Cesar Espinosa (713) 459-8923
TX:    Austin, Check delivery to Sen. Hutchison, Loren Campos, (832) 618-0602
TX:    San Antonio, vigil, Alejandro Siller-Gonzalez, asiller@maccsa.org (210) 732-2156 ext. 7139
UT:    Salt Lake City, Check delivery to Senate office, Alonso Reyna (801) 703-7346
VA:    Harrisonburg, Check delivery to Congressional office, Rick Castaneda (540) 810-6453
WA:    Kennewick, Mount Vernon, Seattle, Vancouver, Yakima: Prayer vigils, Charlie McAteer, Charlie@weareoneamerica.org, (206) 452-8402
WI:    Milwaukee, Check delivery to Rep. Ryan, Maricela Aguilar (414) 469-6671

(List developing)

The DREAM Act is bipartisan legislation that recognizes immigrant youth who have been raised in the United States, have worked hard in school, and who will pursue higher education or serve the United States Armed Forces, should they be given an opportunity to pursue the American Dream.

For more information, contact Shu Ohno at sohno@immigrationforum.org or call 202-309-5645.