1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content

Latino Daily News

Monday December 6, 2010

Monterrey Nabs 2010 Mexican Apertura Title

Monterrey Nabs 2010 Mexican Apertura Title

Photo: Monterrey striker Humberto Suazo

Click Here to Enlarge Photo

In his team’s home in Monterrey, after their championship win, striker Humberto Suazo of Chile was all smiles as he ran the field draped in his home country’s flag. In the 29th and 86th minutes, Suazo scored two of the teams three goals against Santo with Argentinean Jose Maria Basante scoring the third in the 72nd.

Sunday’s win marks the seventh Mexican league title for the Monterrey Rayados’ coach Victor Manuel Vucetich known as the “’Rey Midas’ del futbol mexicano” or the “King Midas of Mexican soccer”. Vucetich has won one title with Tecos and Pachuca each, three with Leon, and now two with Monterrey and was poised to be Mexico’s national team coach, but named personal reasons for his declination.

Mexico’s Torneo Apertura is one the country’s Primera División tournaments. Every year, the league holds two tournaments, one in winter, the Torneo Apertura (opening tournament) and one in summer, the Torneo Clausura (closing tournament). Monterrey also won last year’s Apertura, and the next Clausura is scheduled to begin on January 8, 2011 and end May 22, 2011.