1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content

Latino Daily News

Wednesday May 4, 2011

Congressional Hispanic Caucus Adds New Members to Advisory Council

The Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI) today announced recent additions to its 2011-12 Advisory Council, adding dedicated national leaders committed to the organization’s mission of developing the next generation of Latino leaders.

CHCI is pleased to welcome its newest 2011-12 Advisory Council members:

Steve Aguilar, State Farm Insurance

Angela Mariana Freyre, The Nielsen Company

Gerald G. Harvey, Lockheed Martin

Cindy Jimenez, United Technologies

Lonnie L. Johnson, ExxonMobil Corporation

Maria Neira, AFT

Marta Perez, AstraZeneca

Jason Rodriguez, Hewlett Packard

Julio F. Suarez, Darden Restaurants

Guillermo Valenzuela, Aliviane

Peter R. Villegas, JPMorgan Chase & Co.

“We are very pleased to have such a distinguished and talented group of professionals join our advisory council to help guide CHCI forward,” said Charles A. Gonzalez, CHCI Chair.  “With the Latino population positioned to determine the future success of America, it is critical that leaders from all sectors of society join in our efforts to ensure Latino youth have opportunities to succeed through education.”

The new advisory council members join a dynamic group of Latino leaders who serve on CHCI’s Board of Directors and Advisory Council.  CHCI convened them at its inaugural joint meeting held on May 3, 2011.

The 2011-12 CHCI Executive Board:

Rep. Charles A. Gonzalez
CHCI Chair

Susan Gonzales
CHCI Vice Chair, Comcast

Benjamin Romero
CHCI Secretary

Mike Fernandez
CHCI Treasurer, Cargilll

Esther Aguilera
CHCI President & CEO

Derek E. Leon
CHCI Counsel, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP

Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI), a nonprofit and nonpartisan 501(c) (3) organization, provides leadership development programs and educational services to students and young emerging leaders.  The CHCI Board of Directors is comprised of Hispanic Members of Congress, nonprofit, union and corporate leaders.