1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content

Latino Daily News

Saturday December 15, 2012

3rd Annual Cinema Tropical Awards Announces Nominees

3rd Annual Cinema Tropical Awards Announces Nominees

Photo: Cinema Tropical Awards

Click Here to Enlarge Photo

Sixteen films from five Latin American countries have been nominated for the third edition of the annual Cinema Tropical AWARDS, honoring the best of Latin American cinema of the year in five different categories: Best Feature Film; Best Documentary Film; Best Director, Feature Film; Best Director, Documentary Film and Best First Film.

Both the Argentinean film The Student / El Estudiante by Santiago Mitre and the Brazilian film Neighboring Sounds by Kleber Mendonça Filho lead the nominations with three each.

The five films competing for the award for Best Feature Film of the Year are: Santiago Mitre’s El Estudiante / The Student (Argentina); José Henrique Fonseca’s Heleno (Brazil); Kleber Mendonça Filho’s O som ao redor / Neighboring Sounds (Brazil); Matías Meyer’s Los últimos cristeros / The Last Christeros (Mexico); and José Luis Torres Leiva’s Verano / Summer (Chile).

The five films competing for the award for Best Documentary Film are: José Álvarez’s Canícula (Mexico); Everardo González’s Cuates de Australia / Drought (Mexico); María Fernanda Restrepo’s Con mi corazón en Yambo / With My Heart in Yambo (Ecuador); Claudia Priscilla & Kiko Goifman’s Olhe pra mim de novo / Look At Me Again (Brazil); and Maite Alberdi’s El salvavidas / The Lifeguard (Chile).

The winners of the 3rd Annual Cinema Tropical AWARDS will be announced on Tuesday, January 15, 2013 at a special ceremony at the New York Times headquarters in New York City.

The films were selected from a list of Latin American feature films with a minimum of 60 minutes in length that were premiered between January 1, 2010 and March 31, 2011.

The nominees were culled from a list created by a nominating committee composed of 14 film professionals from Latin America, the U.S., Canada, and Europe.